top of page

"Ypsilon" is the second collaboration between Uwe Zahn (Germany), Porya Hatami (Iran) and Darren McClure (Japan). The trio have also worked together on numerous collaborative projects between each other as duos, and "Ypsilon" album finds them back together, ever expanding their shared aural ideology into new territories. Their 2016 release, “Veerian,” [eilean rec.] focused on free-flowing soundscapes, whereas this new album incorporates more overtly melodic sequences and rhythmic elements to widen its horizon. As on “Veerian,” Zahn, Hatami, and McClure paid meticulous attention to sound design for “Ypsilon.” The inclusion of subdued beats adds a swing to the textural layers, and arpeggiated sequences imply rhythm and momentum. Other tracks remain blissfully ambient, taking time to unfold and breathe without any rhythmic framework. This balance between gentle propulsion and beatless soundscapes, melodic and ambient, lends the album a unique character and takes it into fresh new areas of experimentation for the trio. “Ypsilon” is out on July 12th on limited edition 180 gram bone colored vinyl and compact disc.


La note est de 0.0 sur cinq étoiles sur la base des avis
SKU : MD276
  • 1. theyll
    2. cyntr
    3. symfolt
    4. blynn
    5. absyrb 03:53    
    6. prysma
    7. ypsilon
    8. byte

Aucun avis pour le momentPartagez votre expérience, soyez le premier à laisser un avis.