top of page

The vinyl edition of ‘Ends’ is presented on limited edition
ocean blue 180g heavyweight vinyl in single sleeve reverse-board packaging (Limited to 500).
On his debut solo album ‘Ends’, Giancarlo Erra ably demonstrates a masterful gift for producing timelessly intimate and profoundly affecting music. Comprising a suite of eight thematically linked instrumentals, ‘Ends’ deploys sparse piano patterns, synth textures, eerily beautiful string quartet performances, and subtle electronic pulses to create a compelling whole that
establishes Erra as a composer of rare sensitivity and singular purpose.
Recalling the tonal contemporary classical miniatures of Arvo Part and Max Richter, the soundtracks of Nils Frahm and Clint Mansell, and the early electronica of the likes of Roedelius and Schulze, ‘Ends’ presents a connected series of suspended sonic reveries that shift and build in unexpected and frequently heart-breaking ways.
Produced and performed by Erra - along with a Danish / Icelandic quartet comprising Elis Marteinsson (violin), Krista Sverrisdóttir (violin), Nicolaj Nielsen (viola) and Quynh Lephan (cello) - some of the album’s vividly cinematic soundscapes will be used in a forthcoming documentary film by Australian film-maker Dion Johnson.
Freed from the constraints of writing songs and creating frameworks for his long-running post-rock collective Nosound, with ‘Ends’ Erra has delivered the purest distillation of his musical vision. In abandoning his voice, Giancarlo Erra has discovered a new one.

Giancarlo Erra | Ends | Ocean Blue Vinyl

  • Side A

    1. End III [4:05]

    2. End II [4:03]

    3. End I [5:25]

    4. End VII [6:44]


    Side B

    1. End V [4:24]

    2. End IV [5:06]

    3. End VI [4:42]

    4. Ends Coda [4:02]

No Reviews YetShare your thoughts. Be the first to leave a review.
bottom of page