top of page

Update for International deliveries from Royal Mail from Tuesday 22nd December 2020

Welcome to our international incident bulletin; a round up of any issues which may be affecting mail services to and from countries around the world.

We keep this information as up-to-date as possible, with information supplied to Royal Mail by the various foreign national postal authorities.

International delivery update – Temporary suspension of some international services due to Coronavirus transport impacts

  • This is a fast-moving situation and we are monitoring things on an hourly basis. We are working to keep as many international mail services running as possible given the current restrictions around air, road, ferry and train movements from the UK.

  • Royal Mail has temporarily suspended all mail services to Europe, with the exception of the Republic of Ireland.

  • We are keeping the situation under close and constant review.

  • Customers should check our website for regular updates.

Items that are already in the system will be processed as normal and made ready for dispatch. These items will be held securely until we are able to get them to their relevant destinations.

We're closely monitoring the situation and are ready to open our services as soon as we are able to once the restrictions have been lifted. We continue to explore all options.

We're additionally experiencing delays to Canada and Turkey as air capacity is severely limited.

We're working with our airline and postal/courier partners across the globe to maintain services, however delays should be expected. Many countries have implemented special measure to combat the spread of Coronavirus COVID-19, especially for signature service to maintain social distancing. The number of countries we can access is changing daily.

We strongly advise not to send items to destinations listed as ‘On suspension’ below.

Updates have been provided on Tuesday 22 December 2020 for: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland and Ukraine.

To view the page and affected countries please visit Royal Mail



bottom of page