top of page

Sometimes  in  improvised  music  there  can  be  a  distance  between  listener  and  players,  a  sense  you’re  sitting back  and  admiring  their  interplay  and  abstraction  –  but  with  Szun  Waves’  second  album,  you’re  right  in  there with  them,  inside  the  playing,  experiencing  the  absolute  joy  the  three  musicians  feel  as  they  circle  around each  other,  exploring  the  spaces  they’ve  opened  up.   The  three  members  already  have  sparkling  pedigrees  of  their  own.  Norfolk’s  Luke  Abbott  is  well  known  for his  explorations  of  the  zones  between  pure  ambience  and  the  leftmost  fringes  of  club  culture.  With  Portico Quartet  and  Circle  Traps,  Jack  Wyllie  has  been  in  the  vanguard  of  UK  fusions  of  jazz,  classical  and  club music.  Australian  drummer  Laurence  Pike  has  likewise  found  a  unique  voice  in  improvised  and  experimental music-making,  whether  in  the  bands  Triosk  or  PVT,  or  as  a  solo  artist. The  trio’s  musical  relationship  has  grown  naturally  and  steadily,  and  it  shows.  From  Wyllie  adding shimmering  sustained  sax  notes  to  Abbott’s  gorgeous  ambient  pieces  in  2013,  Szun  Waves  emerged  when Pike  was  added  to  the  mix,  energising  the  sound  but  still  keeping  its  levitational  qualities.  Their  2016  selfreleased  debut  album  hit  a  natural  groove,  and  now  they’re  in  a  place  of  pure  spontaneity:  New  Hymn  To Freedom  is  a  document  of  six  entirely  live  improvisations  –  “no  edits  or  overdubs”  –  and  its  title  couldn’t  be more  apt. New  Hymn  To  Freedom  is  the  second  album  by  Szun  Waves Szun  Waves  are  prolific  electronic  producer  Luke  Abbott,  Portico  Quartet  sax  player  Jack  Wyllie  and Australian  percussion  master  Laurence  Pike The  album  is  comprised  of six  entirely  live  improvisations  –  “no  edits  or  overdubs” The  monochromatic,  psychedelic  video  for  lead  track  ‘Constellation’  was  premiered  by  XLR8R  in  May,  while the  track  was  launched  by  Mary  Anne  Hobbs  on  her  BBC  6  Music  show The  album  will  be  available  on  CD,  digital,  double  black  vinyl  LP  +  CD  and  very  limited  edition  double  white vinyl  LP  (indies  only) Vinyl  editions  include  an  exclusive,  side-long  bonus  track,  unavailable  elsewhere.


London  launch  show  at  Spaces  Gallery  on  Thursday  August  30   Szun  Waves  will  tour  an  ambitious,  multi-media  live  show  in  Europe  later  in  2018 For  fans  of  James  Holden,  Floating  Points,  Rival  Consoles,  Don  Cherry,  Suzanne  Ciani,  Polar  Bear,  Nils Frahm,  Mark  Pritchard,  Sun  Ra,  Alice  Coltrane,  Kaitlyn  Aurelia  Smith,  Cluster,  Pantha  Du  Prince,  Four  Tet 


Szun  Waves  are:  

Luke  Abbott  –  synths  (Earlham  Mystics) Laurence  Pike  –  drums  (Triosk,  PVT)

Jack  Wyllie  –  saxophone  (Portico  Quartet,  Circle  Traps) 

Szun Waves | New Hymn To Freedom | CD

Değerlendirmelere göre beş yıldız üzerinden hesaplanan puan 0.0
Stok kodu: BAY111CD